Quotable Folks – George Santayana

Someone said something today that made me go look up the quote, “Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it”. Turns out the actual quote is “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it,” and it was said by George Santayana. In addition to being cool just because he has ‘Santa’ in his last name, this guy also had some really clever quotes, which I will now share with you.

There is nothing impossible in the existence of the supernatural: its existence seems to me decidedly probable.
-The Genteel Tradition at Bay (1931)

Skepticism, like chastity, should not be relinquished too readily.
Quotations for Our Time (1977)

And now I have the urge to buy his books and read them. They’re just good. Look him up. Seriously.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Non-Writing Related, Politics

2 responses to “Quotable Folks – George Santayana

  1. You gave me a smile. For more on Santayana, I invite you to visit us here: http://iat.iupui.edu/santayana/. We also have a small but friendly group on FB: https://www.facebook.com/pages/George-Santayana/193323637445248.

  2. Cassie

    I love this quote and I have it on my classroom bulletin board at this very moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

