The Problem with Society

I’ve figured out how to distill the problems of society into one single sentence.  Are you ready for this?

The problem with society is how pervasive the problem with society is.

That sounds circular, and it kind of is, but think about it.  If you try to fix one of the things wrong in this society, you’re hindered by all the other things.  And if, by some miracle, you do manage to fix it, as soon as you move on to something else, all the other problems around what you just fixed undo all your work.

As an example, which also happens to be the thing that inspired this post, I want to tell you what recently happened on Facebook.  A friend of mine shared a picture I liked.  It happens a lot.  I wanted to share it, but it had a single word of profanity on it.  So I made my own version.

This was the picture I shared.   The wording of the original, however, was ‘F*** society’, which I didn’t think belonged on my wall, as though I that that word was appropriate.

The friend who shared the original commented on mine: “I was hesitant to share it for exactly that reason..!”

Yet, she still shared it.   It hit me, in that moment, how, while sharing a picture that combated one of society’s problems (namely, the brainwashing of young, beautiful girls into believing they are overweight), one can still be participating in many other societal ills.

Profanity.  Even if you were ‘hesitant’, you still shared it.

Laziness.  I made a clean version and shared it.  Took me five minutes, total, with no challenge.  Anyone could have done that.

The ‘Somebody else’s problem’ field.  This contributed to the first two.  This is probably the biggest problem with society right now, if I had to pick one.  And yes, this is a Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy reference.

What I’m basically saying is, society can’t be fixed one issue at a time.  It needs a complete overhaul, an about-face, a 180, willing or unwilling.  Unless it all changes, none of it will.

5 Comments

Filed under Christian, Life, Non-Writing Related

5 responses to “The Problem with Society

  1. Kudos to you, and for standing up for what is right. And just as important, for stating what too little of us will care to say … Society does need a major overhaul. Period. You are so very right. I wrote a Post just the other day about one of the major issues we have in society; Acceptance.
    Cheers,
    Amma

  2. Demon of the Desert

    According to unverifiable stories, when asked what’s wrong with the world, GK Chesterton was wise enough to answer with not a circular statement like yours, but rather with two words.

    “I am.”

    Maybe you’re missing the point. Maybe the problem with society is that it is made up of people like you and me.

    • That’s certainly true. I’m no better than the next guy, and I certainly won’t claim to be smarter than GK Chesterton. I’m simply saying that “I am” doesn’t cover it. “I am. And he is. And she is. And they are.” It’s everyone and everything.

  3. I couldn’t agree more. Also in the photo we can try and teach that a fuller figure is just as or even more beautiful than a skinnier frame but, both the women are white. So the photo is possibly indirectly saying that white women are the ideals for beauty. The picture makes a comment about weight but it doesn’t address race which plays off of what you were saying; you can fix one thing but then there are 10 other things to fix.

Leave a Reply

