Love, Beauty, and God

Spoilers, but please read anyway.  This is important.

I just saw this movie, Trust, about a young girl who was tricked by a man in his thirties into meeting him, after which he raped her.  And it… it hurt.  It’s always been a weak point of mine, wanting to help the girls that are abused like that, but this was more than that.  It made me regret, all over again and with far more intensity, every mistake I’ve made.  All the people I’ve hurt.  And it made me think of something else as well.

I watched as the girl was mocked by her peers, interrogated by her parents (who, admittedly, had every right to), and put through therapy.  She had no solid rock to cling to.  Everything around her crumbled, and she was adrift in her sea of emotions, without so much as a piece of flotsam to help her stay up.

At the end of the movie, the mocking and slandering from her classmates becomes too much to bear, and she takes every pill in the medicine cabinet to try and kill herself.  Her parents get her to the hospital in time, and she lives, but I couldn’t help but wonder: how many girls succeed?  How many girls in their teens get assaulted like that, and don’t have anyone to turn to, so they try to take their lives, and succeed?

This is the world we live in, and I hate it.  I hate the darkness in our cities, the darkness that festers in the hearts of men and drives them to commit these unspeakably horrific acts.  I hate the apathy of the populace, the apathy that allows crimes to take place just outside their windows, right under their noses, without being reported.  Sometimes I agree with Rorschach, one of the anti-heroes in The Watchmen.

“March, 1964. Stopped at newsstand on way to work, bought paper. There she was. On front page. Woman who’d ordered special dress. Kitty Genovese. Raped. Tortured. Killed. Here. In New York. Outside her own apartment building. Almost forty neighbors heard screams. Nobody did anything. Nobody called cops. Some of them even watched. Do you understand? I knew what people were then, behind all the evasions, all the self-deception. Ashamed for humanity I went home. I took the remains of her unwanted dress and made a face that I could bear to look at in the mirror.”

That’s what humanity seems to be, sometimes.  I want to change that.  People say one person can’t make a difference, I say they’re wrong.  Time and time again, a single person has stood against the darkness and won.  Darkness is only the absence of Light, so one Light can dispel a great deal of darkness.  I’m going to stand against this darkness, and I won’t let anything say it can’t be done.

Right now you’re probably wondering what my plan is.  If I even have a plan.  I do.  I have a master plan that I can’t even begin to work on yet, and I have a much more achievable plan that I’m already doing.  Short-term plan: be here.  Be the solid rock for any and all girls that need it.  Reach into the darkness and bring Light.  Support groups like To Write Love On Her Arms, groups that exist to help these people.

Long-term, currently unachievable plan: make a place for them.  For all the girls who think they’d rather just die, for all the girls, teenage girls, who are currently prostituting themselves because that’s the only way they think they can feel beautiful, even just for a moment, I want to offer something better.  A home.  It will take a lot of money and effort, but I want to build a huge complex, a home for any and all young people who have none.  Teach them, guide them, help them find a place and a way in the world.

I want the teen suicide rate to fall to zero.  I want teen depression to end.  I want them all to know that, even if no one else in the world loves them, God does.  And because God does, I do.

I don’t care what’s in your past.  The all-powerful Lord of Hosts does not make ugly things.  Each and every human being on this earth is beautiful. He thinks so.  I think so.  He extends His unconditional love to all, and so I do the same.

To all the girls in this world that are hurting, or lonely: you’re beautiful.  I love you.  I don’t know you, but God does, and He loves you, and that’s all the reason I need.

Please, if you’ve read this, share it.  Show it to someone who needs it.  Tell them they are loved.

God bless you all.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Love, Beauty, and God

  1. Ain’t just one of you. I right there with you, bro. 🙂 There’s at least two of us.

    And I know a few more. We can make a difference…even more of a difference if we all work together. ^_^

  2. Yes, there isn’t just one or two of you. I believe there are people all around the world who are hurting like you both are for these girls. I know I am.

    I don’t think I have ever told you this, Nick, but I want to, someday, start a rescue mission type of thing for girls who have had that happen, gone though what I have gone through, or anything at all. Even if they are just looking for a Savior.

    I love your passion on this. Though you, I believe God will reach many people. You are a strong, and loving young man. You are willing to learn, and willing to lead. You show the grace of God when people, girls see no hope in their life. When they hate everything around them, you still love them, like God loves His children, no matter what. That is your strong point, my brother. I pray that you use that to glorify HIS name.

    May God bless you.

  3. I’m with you.
    If I can help you help, let me know. I think you’ll understand.

    God bless.

  4. I have been feeling this fire the past few days. I am sick of being in this broken world, and I am sick of seeing so much suffering. I’m sick of seeing bullying, cutting, rapes, murders, drugs, and suicide. I hate it, and it makes my blood burn inside. Sometimes I just want to crawl into a hole and leave the world behind. But I can’t do that. I refuse to hide my light. I refuse to abandon these people who need my help. I refuse to let apathy and fear trample my purpose here.

    I love your idea to build a home for girls who have suffered like that. I know God will use you.

Leave a Reply

