Non-Writing Related: The Effect of Society on a Christian

This is just a theory in progress that I came up with, so it may or may not be solid. In short: the worse society is, the better Christians have to be. In the Victorian Era, most of the people were pretty decent people, with their awesome clothes and carriages and gloves and dueling. Being a Christian in that time only meant that you went to church and showed love and kindness to everyone.

Today, it’s much harder. When every third word out of the average person’s mouth is a cuss word, when ‘teasing’ and ‘playing around’ is common, Christians have to be paragons of virtue in order to make an impression. One slip and you lose a lot of credibility.

Yeah. Just a thought I had. Society is in a sad, sad place right now…

8 Comments

Filed under Christian, Life, Non-Writing Related

8 responses to “Non-Writing Related: The Effect of Society on a Christian

  1. I liked your commentary, and unfortunately society is in a very sad place these days with a LOT of rough edges. But I’m not sure I absolutely agree with your position, although I *kind of* agree… I think it’s more important that Christians be completely authentic than be paragons of virtue. Granted, many (not all), but most non-believers expect us to be paragons of virtue, but that’s when we have to take the time to explain the Gospel and that no one, none of us, is perfect. What we really need to do is own our sins and call them what they are — “sins”— and hope that the hearer understands Christianity is simply this: giving credit to the Creator (rather than His creations), owning our sins, and then striving to repent of these sins and be like Christ — as best as we can be. :O)

    • Of course, I’m not expecting Christians to be perfect. I know that’s impossible. I’m just saying that society turns off to us if they see us curse or cheat or any of a thousand other little things that society accepts for itself, because of the age-old, “Well, if Christians do that too, I don’t need to be one, obviously,’ problem. I agree authenticity and explanation is key, it’s just harder to get them to listen.

  2. HiddenDragonIPV

    It really is. I think that’s half the reason I want to be a writer. I’m a very quiet person and really don’t like talking all that much even when I have something to say. So I say it through my writing.

    The problem is, there don’t really seem to be many Christians who want to do anything. It seems like they’re either Bible-thumpers or just think that once you are a Christian you don’t need to do anything else.

    • Ditto to the motivation for being a writer. I find it easier to talk when I’m not talking.

      Yes. Very much. I’ve been reading The Screwtape Letters (and there will be a very pleased review on them shortly) and the demon Screwtape is talking about how the best thing they can do is get humans to one extreme or the other. Any extreme is bad, whether overaggressive Bible-thumping or passive complacency.

      • HiddenDragonIPV

        *Really needs to read The Screwtape Letters.*

        Yes, and then when there are groups of Christians that are at one extreme, the rest of the world treats all Christians that way. Well, it’s not just Christians, it’s any kind of group.

        I find it very interesting – and incredibly sad – how people can take things so out of context and then go and do something stupid and extreme. And then in some cases because they do that they’re forgetting other things that were stressed so much more in the Bible, like loving people. “God Hates Gays” “Thank God for Dead Soldiers” Yes, very loving.

        Okay, rant over… maybe.

      • Yeah, The Screwtape Letters is the most eye-opening book I’ve yet read. Admittedly I’m not very widely read on books of that type, but it made me want to read it, made me keep reading it, and opened my eyes. I might do a post with a few key quotes from it.

        It’s also sad how people get so defensive over stuff that’s so insignificant (also mentioned in the Screwtape Letters). Like, I found this great guy on YouTube who does devotional videos, and apparently at one point he got a tattoo, and he got flamed so hard for it. Tattoos aren’t really a big issue, especially when it glorifies God, like his did. We squabble over stupid stuff and then wonder why we can’t save people.

  3. I wouldn’t agree with the Victorian Christian definition. Lord Shaftesbury, Elizabeth Fry and many others were held up to scorn in their generation for being Rebelutionary and standing against society’s standards.

    I think you’ll find that every generation has its ordered atheism, its rampant atheism, its ordered false religions, its radical false religions, its ordered good morals, its ordered Christianity and its radical Christianity.
    By ordered, I mean set to a level of acceptable standards. Radical Christianity is Rebelutionary, goes to the most radical standard for Christ and stands out strong against the world.
    It’s in every generation. It’s despised. And it’s where Christ truly is.

Leave a Reply

